Welcome to POWERHOUSE Arena, the premier location of the three indie POWERHOUSE Bookstores, located in Dumbo.

With locations now in Dumbo, Park Slope, and Industry City, our helpful staff is ready to help you find your next favorite book at any of our Brooklyn-based bookstores!


We are OPEN seven days a week in our THREE stores!

Dumbo
28 Adams St.
Brooklyn, NY
11207

Mon – Fri: 11:00am – 6:00pm
Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am – 6:00pm

Park Slope
1111 8th Av.
Brooklyn, NY
11215

Monday-Friday: 12:00pm-6:00pm, Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am – 6:00pm

Industry City
220 36th St. Building #2
Brooklyn, NY
11232

11:00am – 6:00pm daily

Parking validation with purchase

Get personalized recommendations and special orders from these expert staffers: 
Brittany (Dumbo), Chris (Park Slope), or Susanne (Industry City).

Thank you for continuing to support your local indie bookstore!



Meet NBA legend KENDRICK PERKINS on February 20th!

Join us on Monday February 20th at 7PM to welcome Kendrick Perkins and his new book!

Find tickets here!

Kendrick Perkins is a much-recognized ESPN NBA commentator and analyst. An NBA World Champion with the Boston Celtics, he engineered a hugely successful 14-year professional career. His platform, as both an expert on the game that gave him so much, and an advocate for civil rights and justice, has elevated his profile well beyond his skills on the court, with a social media following of enormous reach.

He now uses that voice and experience to write a powerful and intimate memoir on his career, his life in small town Texas, the responsibilities of fatherhood, and his responsibilities as a cultural critic in his new book, THE EDUCATION OF KENDRICK PERKINS: A Memoir coauthored with Seth Rogoff.

Kendrick Perkins was drafted straight out of high school and went on to play fourteen years in the NBA. In 2007-2008, Perk helped lead the Celtics to their first NBA championship since the Larry Bird era. Since retiring from basketball, Perk has become one of the most exciting basketball analysts in the media. He regularly appears on ESPN’s most popular shows, including Hoop Streams, NBA Countdown, First Take, and Get Up. He is widely known for his social media presence, his Twitter account often setting the agenda of the basketball conversation nationwide. He lives in Texas.



Great New Releases at POWERHOUSE!


 Click your pick to order a copy on our website today!

For more info call 718-666-3049 or email brittany@POWERHOUSEBookstores.com!  

Shop these titles and more here!


POWERHOUSE is hiring! 

We are looking for an events coordinator and experienced booksellers. Find more details here!

Upcoming Book Launches!

*DUMBO* Book Launch: Bad Mormon by Heather Gay
Tuesday Feb 07, 7-9 PM

Straight off the slopes and into the spotlight, Heather Gay is famous for speaking the gospel truth. Whether as a businesswoman, mother, or television personality, she is unafraid to blaze a new trail, even if it means losing family, friends, and her community.

With writing that is beautiful, sad, funny, and true, Heather recounts the difficult discovery of the darkness and damage that often exists behind a picture-perfect life, while examining the nuanced relationship between duty to self and duty to God. Exposing secrets she once held sacred, Bad Mormon is an unfiltered look at the religion that broke her heart.

Tickets here!

*DUMBO* Book Launch: The Education of Kendrick Perkins
Monday Feb 20, 7-9 PM

Kendrick Perkins is a much-recognized ESPN NBA commentator and analyst. An NBA World Champion with the Boston Celtics, he engineered a hugely successful 14-year professional career. His platform, as both an expert on the game that gave him so much, and an advocate for civil rights and justice, has elevated his profile well beyond his skills on the court, with a social media following of enormous reach.

He now uses that voice and experience to write a powerful and intimate memoir on his career, his life in small town Texas, the responsibilities of fatherhood, and his responsibilities as a cultural critic in his new book, THE EDUCATION OF KENDRICK PERKINS: A Memoir coauthored with Seth Rogoff.

Tickets here!

*DUMBO* Book Launch:

Users by Colin Winnette
Tuesday Feb 28, 7-9 PM

Marrying the philosophical absurdities of life, technology, start-up culture, and family, Users is for readers of Ling Ma, Dave Eggers’s The Circle, and viewers of the hit Apple TV+ original series Severance

In a world rife with the unchecked power and ambition of tech, Users investigates—with both humor and creeping dread—how interpersonal experiences and private decisions influence the hasty developments that have the power to permanently alter the landscape of human experience.

Tickets here!

*DUMBO* Book Launch:

Palo Alto A History of California, Capitalism, and the World by Malcolm Harris
Wednesday Mar 01, 7-9 PM

In PALO ALTO, the first comprehensive, global history of Silicon Valley, Malcolm Harris examines how and why Northern California evolved in the particular, consequential way it did, tracing the ideologies, technologies, and policies that have been engineered there over the course of 150 years of Anglo settler colonialism, from IQ tests to the “tragedy of the commons,” racial genetics, and “broken windows” theory. The Internet and computers, too. It’s a story about how a small American suburb became a powerful engine for economic growth and war, and how it came to lead the world into a surprisingly disastrous 21st century. PALO ALTO is an urgent and visionary history of the way we live now, one that ends with a clear-eyed, radical proposition for how we might begin to change course.

Tickets here!

*DUMBO* Book Launch:

BEYOND THAT, THE SEA by Laura Spence-Ash
Tuesday  March 21, 7-9 PM

As German bombs fall over London in 1940, working-class parents Millie and Reginald Thompson make an impossible choice: they decide to send their eleven-year-old daughter, Beatrix, to America. There, she’ll live with another family for the duration of the war, where they hope she’ll stay safe.

As we follow Bea over time, navigating between her two worlds, Beyond That, the Sea emerges as a beautifully written, absorbing novel, full of grace and heartache, forgiveness and understanding, loss and love.

Tickets here!

*DUMBO* Book Launch:

A BRIEF HISTORY OF LIVING FOREVER by Jarsolav Kalfar
Tuesday March 28, 7-9 PM

When Adéla discovers she has a terminal illness, she leaves behind her native Czech village for a chance at reuniting in America with Tereza, the daughter she gave up at birth, decades earlier. But the country Adéla experienced as a young woman, when she eloped with a filmmaker and starred in his cult sci-fi movie, has changed entirely. In 2030, America is ruled by an authoritarian government increasingly closed off to the rest of the world. Tereza, the star researcher for VITA, a biotech company hellbent on discovering the key to immortality, is overjoyed to meet her mother, with whom she forms an instant, profound connection. But when their time together is cut short by shocking events, Tereza must uncover VITA’s alarming activity in the wastelands of what was once Florida, and persuade the Czech brother she’s never met to join her in this odds-defying adventure.

Tickets here!

Can’t make an event but want a signed copy? We got you! 
Just email brittany@POWERHOUSEBookstores.com
or leave a message at 718-666-3049 x100 to pre-order.



powerHouse Books

Pre-order our newest photography tome by award-winning, internationally exhibiting artist Simen Johan, a pioneer in digital image-making!


Representing 15 years of the artist’s career, and gathered here for the very first time in this deluxe volume, are his celebrated, uncanny animal portraits, otherworldly landscapes, and psychologically-charged narrative natural scenes.

With a unique creative process that combines candid wildlife photography with digital manipulation, cinematic drama and a painterly approach, Simen Johan summons a metaphorically dense world into being where human fantasy and nature collide. In a catalogue essay, David E. Little, Executive Director of the International Center of Photography, writes: “Johan’s photographs underscore the importance of the creative act in photography, not as an act in itself, but as a means towards a conceptual and narrative goal.” 

We’re proud to be a #WomanOwnedBusiness

Co-owner Susanne König

Staff Recommendations

Susanne’s Picks
Hannah’s Picks
Brittany’s Picks
Chris’s Picks
Anna’s Picks

Gift Certificates

Upcoming Events

Past Events


POWERHOUSE is voted one of the 10 best things to do in Dumbo, Brooklyn by Conde Nast Traveler.
Travel + Leisure selects POWERHOUSE as one of the World’s Coolest Bookstores.
POWERHOUSE on 8th in Park Slope joins neighborhood solar panel community.


Facebook
Instagram
Twitter
Youtube