virtual events

 

Virtual Saturday Story Time: All We Need by Kathy Wolff

Virtual Saturday Story Time: All We Need by Kathy Wolff

For fans of All the World and Love, a poetic story that celebrates the littlest things we all need to be happy — and the beauty of sharing with others when we have more to give.

Virtual Book Launch: Sprinting Through No Man's Land by Adin Dobkin in conversation with Phil Klay

Virtual Book Launch: Sprinting Through No Man's Land by Adin Dobkin in conversation with Phil Klay

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

An inspiring true story of human endurance, SPRINTING THROUGH NO MAN’S LAND traces the race of a lifetime and explores how regular but extraordinary people are able to rebuild and unite after catastrophe.

Middle Grade Summer Lit Camp

Middle Grade Summer Lit Camp

Welcome back to Powerhouse’s fourth Middle Grade Lit Camp!

Virtual Book Launch: Easy Crafts for the Insane by Kelly Williams Brown in conversation with John Moe

Virtual Book Launch: Easy Crafts for the Insane by Kelly Williams Brown in conversation with John Moe

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

In EASY CRAFTS FOR THE INSANE, crafting tutorials serve as the backdrop of a life dissolved, then glued back together. Surprising, humane, and utterly unforgettable, this is a poignant and hysterical look at the unexpected, messy coping mechanisms we use to find ourselves again.

Virtual Saturday Story Time: The Perfect Plan by Leah Gilbert

Virtual Saturday Story Time: The Perfect Plan by Leah Gilbert

A gorgeously illustrated picture book about a little girl’s leadership, creative thinking, and perseverance, as she works together with friends to build a dream, for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer.

Virtual Book Launch: A Touch of Jen by Beth Morgan in conversation with Kristen Arnett

Virtual Book Launch: A Touch of Jen by Beth Morgan in conversation with Kristen Arnett

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

A TOUCH OF JEN reads as if Ottessa Moshfegh wrote Ingrid Goes West during a fever dream; it’s a piercing critique of wellness as an industry, the self as a brand, and culture mediated through screens, all wrapped up in a wickedly funny comedy of manners that devolves into a gory, psychedelic nightmare.

ARCHWAY EDITIONS PRESENTS the book launch for Stinker Lets Loose and Randy! by Mike Sacks in conversation with Jason Zinoman

ARCHWAY EDITIONS PRESENTS the book launch for Stinker Lets Loose and Randy! by Mike Sacks in conversation with Jason Zinoman

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Archway Editions brings you STINKER LETS LOOSE and RANDY – two ingenious metanarratives from Vanity Fair’s Mike Sacks that take comedy writing to surreal, uproarious new heights.

Virtual Book Launch: Love Lockdown by Elizabeth Greenwood in conversation with Benjamin Lorr

Virtual Book Launch: Love Lockdown by Elizabeth Greenwood in conversation with Benjamin Lorr

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

A compassionate and riveting investigative look into romantic relationships between incarcerated people and their spouses on the outside from the author of the “mesmerizing” (Elle) Playing Dead and perfect for fans of the #1 New York Times bestseller Three Women.

Book Launch: The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix

Book Launch: The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

A fast-paced, thrilling horror novel that follows a group of heroines to die for, from the brilliant New York Times bestselling author of The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires.

YA Book Club: Hurricane Summer by Asha Bromfield

YA Book Club: Hurricane Summer by Asha Bromfield

Join Powerhouse and @myprettylittlebookshelf to discuss this months book club pick!!

Joint Book Launch: The Atmospherians by Alex McElroy and God Spare the Girls by Kelsey McKinney

Joint Book Launch: The Atmospherians by Alex McElroy and God Spare the Girls by Kelsey McKinney

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Join these two hotly-tipped debut authors as they join us for their first in-person, bookstore launch of THE ATMOSPHERIANS and GOD SPARE THE GIRLS!

Book Launch: Made in China by Anna Qu

Book Launch: Made in China by Anna Qu

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

As a teen, Anna Qu is sent by her mother to work in her family’s garment factory in Queens. At home, she is treated as a maid and suffers punishment for doing her homework at night. Her mother wants to teach her a lesson: she is Chinese, not American, and such is their tough path in their new country. But instead of acquiescing, Qu alerts the Office of Children and Family Services, an act with consequences that impact the rest of her life.

Virtual Book Launch: Leave Society by Tao Lin in conversation with Sheila Heti

Virtual Book Launch: Leave Society by Tao Lin in conversation with Sheila Heti

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

POWERHOUSE Arena is thrilled to welcome back TAO LIN for the launch of his new book, LEAVE SOCIETY: a bold portrait of a writer working to balance all his lives–as an artist, a son, and a loner.

Book Launch: What To Miss When by Leigh Stein in conversation with Ali Kriegsman

Book Launch: What To Miss When by Leigh Stein in conversation with Ali Kriegsman

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Poems about pop culture, mortality, and the internet, written during the Coronavirus pandemic—for readers who are more likely to double-tap Instapoems than put their phone down long enough to read The Decameron.

Book Launch: How We Fall Apart by Katie Zhao in conversation with June Hur

Book Launch: How We Fall Apart by Katie Zhao in conversation with June Hur

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

In a YA thriller that is Crazy Rich Asians meets One of Us is Lying, students at an elite prep school are forced to confront their secrets when their ex-best friend turns up dead.

Virtual Book Launch: Poison for Breakfast by Lemony Snicket

Virtual Book Launch: Poison for Breakfast by Lemony Snicket

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Lemony Snicket’s books are beloved by millions of children all over the world, having sold more than 70 million copies, been translated into 40 languages and adapted for both screen and stage. Now, his devoted readers, so many of whom have grown into adulthood, will be delighted by his upcoming release (his first in six years): POISON FOR BREAKFAST.

Paperback Book Launch: Sensation Machines by Adam Wilson

Paperback Book Launch: Sensation Machines by Adam Wilson

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Set in an economic dystopia that’s just around the corner, Sensation Machines is both an endlessly twisty novel of big ideas, and a brilliantly observed human drama that grapples with greed, automation, universal basic income, wearable tech, revolutionary desires, and a broken justice system.

Book Launch: Happy Hour by Marlowe Granados in conversation with Rachel Tashjian

Book Launch: Happy Hour by Marlowe Granados in conversation with Rachel Tashjian

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

With the verve and bite of Ottessa Moshfegh and the barbed charm of Nancy Mitford, Marlowe Granados’s stunning début brilliantly captures a summer of striving in New York City.

Book Launch: I’m Not Hungry But I Could Eat by Christopher Gonzalez

Book Launch: I’m Not Hungry But I Could Eat by Christopher Gonzalez

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Long nights, empty stomachs, and impulsive cravings haunt the stories of I’m Not Hungry But I Could Eat. A college grad reunites with a high school crush when invited to his bachelor party, a lonely cat-sitter wreaks havoc on his friends’ apartment, happy hour french fries leave more than grease on lips and fingers, and, squeezed into a diner booth, one man eats past his limit for the sake of friendship. Exploring the lives of bisexual and gay Puerto Rican men, these fifteen stories show a vulnerable, intimate world of yearning and desire.