virtual events

 

Book Launch: I'm More Dateable than a Plate of Refried Beans by Ginny Hogan

Book Launch: I'm More Dateable than a Plate of Refried Beans by Ginny Hogan

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

From comedian Ginny Hogan, this laugh-out-loud collection of humor observations explores all the ups and downs of modern romance.

Book Launch: The Longcut by Emily Hall in conversation with Nate Lippens

Book Launch: The Longcut by Emily Hall in conversation with Nate Lippens

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

The narrator of The Longcut is an artist who doesn’t know what her art is. As she gets lost on her way to a meeting in an art gallery, walking around in circles in a city she knows perfectly well, she finds herself endlessly sidetracked and distracted by the question of what her work is and how she’ll know it when she sees it. 

Book Launch: Serious Face by Jon Mooallem, in conversation with Isaac Fitzgerald

Book Launch: Serious Face by Jon Mooallem, in conversation with Isaac Fitzgerald

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Join longtime contributor to the New York Times Magazine Jon Mooallem for the launch of his collection of essays exploring the vulnerability of human imperfection behind every Serious Face.

Book Launch: Everything Abridged by Dennard Dayle, in conversation with Jessi Jezewska Stevens

Book Launch: Everything Abridged by Dennard Dayle, in conversation with Jessi Jezewska Stevens

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

For readers of David Wong, Paul Beatty, and George Saunders, an electrifying and wholly original collection of satirical stories that create a bitingly funny portrait of American racism, capitalism, and politics.

Book Launch: The Cook You Want to Be by Andy Baraghani, in conversation with Evan Ross Katz

Book Launch: The Cook You Want to Be by Andy Baraghani, in conversation with Evan Ross Katz

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Beloved food writer and social media star Andy Baraghani helps you define and develop your personal cooking style—and become the cook you want to be—in more than 100 recipes.

Book Launch: Walk the Vanished Earth by Erin Swan, in conversation with Helen Schulman

Book Launch: Walk the Vanished Earth by Erin Swan, in conversation with Helen Schulman

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

In the tradition of Station Eleven, Severance and The Dog Stars, a beautifully written and emotionally stirring dystopian novel about how our dreams of the future may shift as our environment changes rapidly, even as the earth continues to spin.

Book Launch: The Community by N. Jamiyla Chisholm, in conversation with Aimee Meredith Cox

Book Launch: The Community by N. Jamiyla Chisholm, in conversation with Aimee Meredith Cox

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

An arresting and emotional memoir about a family’s indoctrination into a religious cult, a daughter coming to terms with a parent’s devastating choices, and the trials ahead in post-9/11 New York.

Book Launch: The Night Burns Bright by Ross Barkan, with Adam Wilson and Jessi Jezewska Stevens

Book Launch: The Night Burns Bright by Ross Barkan, with Adam Wilson and Jessi Jezewska Stevens

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Three writers read from their new novels which explore, in various and arresting forms, precarity and disorienting change in 21st century New York. 

IC Book Launch: Stories of Japanese Tea by Zach Mangan, in conversation with Sabato Sagaria

IC Book Launch: Stories of Japanese Tea by Zach Mangan, in conversation with Sabato Sagaria

Powerhouse @ IC

Explore the artistry of Japanese tea from cultivation to cup in this comprehensive illustrated guide to the tea industry that includes the Japanese growers, their craft of tea making, and how the tradition of tea has had an influence on cuisine, art, and health.

Book Launch: Battling the Big Lie by Dan Pfeiffer

Book Launch: Battling the Big Lie by Dan Pfeiffer

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

From #1 New York Times bestselling author and cohost of Pod Save America—how to combat political disinformation and dangerous lies of the right-wing propaganda machine.

Book Launch: Just by Looking at Him by Ryan O'Connell, in conversation with Cat Cohen

Book Launch: Just by Looking at Him by Ryan O'Connell, in conversation with Cat Cohen

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

Eliot appears to be living the dream as a successful TV writer with a doting boyfriend. But behind his Instagram filter of a life, he’s grappling with an intensifying alcohol addiction, a an obsession with sex workers, and overwhelming insecurity.

IC Book Launch: The Craft Brewery Cookbook by John Holl, in conversation with Nate Schweber

IC Book Launch: The Craft Brewery Cookbook by John Holl, in conversation with Nate Schweber

Powerhouse @ IC

A lively afternoon talking about the joys of food and beer pairings, with stories of the American brewing industry, an exploration of flavors, and free beer samples.

Sackett Street Writers' Workshop 20th Anniversary Party

Sackett Street Writers' Workshop 20th Anniversary Party

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway
Celebrate the 20th anniversary of The Sackett Street Writers’ Workshop

Founded in Brooklyn in 2002 by novelist Julia Fierro, Sackett Street Writers is now a creative home to more than 10,000 writers in NYC and worldwide.

There will be drinks, cake and book signings by featured alumni authors with recently released books.

Featured alumni signing books at the party include memoirist Qian Julie Wang (Beautiful Country), novelists Monica West (Revival Season), SSWW founder & director Julia Fierro and alum Caeli Widger Wolfson writing as Cassidy Lucas (Santa Monica & The Last Party), Mark Prins (The Latinist), Marissa Levien (The World Gives Way), and special guest Marcy Dermansky (Hurricane Girl).
Summer Middle Grade Lit Camp 2022

Summer Middle Grade Lit Camp 2022

POWERHOUSE’S Middle Grade Lit Camp is back for the Summer!

Book Launch: Mother in the Dark by Kayla Maiuri, in conversation with Sanaë Lemoine

Book Launch: Mother in the Dark by Kayla Maiuri, in conversation with Sanaë Lemoine

POWERHOUSE @ the Archway

From author Kayla Maiuri, a debut novel about family secrets and a volatile relationship between a mother and her daughters.